Research Committee on Development Economics (AEL)

  • Description
  • Goals

    The Research Committee on Development Economics was founded in the 1970's. It dedicates itself to the research as well as to critical discussion of research results and relevant questions in the area of development theory and policy. Accordingly, the Research Committee aims for its members to engage in theoretical and political questions regarding both, their research and teaching activities. Moreover, special attention is paid to the promotion and building up of a new scientific generation in this area of interest. Maintaining an active exchange between the Research Committee and the development practice is another important aspect.


    The members meet on a regular basis at the Annual Conferences. The venue changes every year according to the member of the Committee who is responsible for organizational matters. Besides scientifically specialized lectures, the program of the Annual Conference can cover deepening lectures and discussions.


    Present chairwoman of the Research Committee Development Economics is Prof. Dr. Katharina Michaelowa, who was elected on the Annual Conference 2011 for a two-year period. A single re-election of the chairperson is possible.

    The Research Committee was formerly led by

    • Prof. Stephan Klasen, Ph.D. (2007-2011)
    • Prof. Dr. Lukas Menkhoff (2004-2007)
    • Prof. Dr. Heinz Ahrens (2000-2004)
    • Prof. Dr. Renate Schubert (1996-2000)

    If you are interested in participation, please do not hesitate to contact any member of the Research Committee for Development Economics.


    Phone +41.44.634.48.83
    Location ,

    Social Networks and Comments