Department of Political Science - JGU Mainz

  • Description
  • The Department of Political Science is part of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Media, and Sports of Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz. Our English web pages offer information on the Department itself and its units, as well as on our teaching and research.

    A total of 1,958 undergraduates and graduate students are currently enrolled at the Department (last update: April 2012). In Political Science we have 683 students in the B. A. programme (442 as a major), 27 in the new M. A. programme and 665 in the old non-consecutive M. A. programme (323 as a major); in "Civics" for high-school teachers, we have 308 students in the B. Ed. programme, 40 in the new M. Ed. programme and 235 in the old non-consecutive "Staatsexamen" programme. In addition, several dozen graduates are currently working towards a Ph. D. in Political Science.


    The Department of Political Science at Johannes Gutenberg University looks back on a history of five decades of politics as an academic discipline in Mainz. In the early 1960s, long before the social sciences became a recognized academic division of their own in German universities, two chairs for the "Science of Politics" were already established in Mainz - one in the Faculty of Philosophy, the other in the Faculty of Law. A decade later, these chairs were integrated into what became the Department of Political Science. Today, the Department is a vigorous entity, home of app. 40 faculty members, all of whom are dedicated both to teaching and to research.


    Phone +49.6131.392-3763
    Location ,

    Social Networks and Comments