IFIP 8.5 EGOV-EPART 2017 Conference Russia

  • Conference Call
  • The Inter­na­tional Fed­er­a­tion for Infor­ma­tion Pro­cess­ing, Work­ing Group 8.5 will be hold­ing its 2017 IFIP EGOV-​EPART Con­fer­ence on Sep­tem­ber 47, 2017 in St. Peter­burg, Rus­sia at the St. Peters­burg State Uni­ver­sity of Infor­ma­tion Tech­nolo­gies, Mechan­ics and Optics (ITMO Uni­ver­sity).


    The 2017 edi­tion of the IFIP EGOV-​EPART con­fer­ence, the annual con­fer­ence of IFIP Work­ing Group 8.5, con­tin­ues to host five top­i­cal tracks. Two gen­eral tracks will main­tain the tra­di­tion of EGOV and EPART.

    Three special-​topics tracks expand the reach and scope of the IFIP WG 8.5 annual conference:

    • The Gen­eral E-​Government Track serves as an umbrella for all e-​government-​related top­ics except the special-​topics tracks. In par­tic­u­lar, it also cov­ers emerg­ing and spe­cial top­ics in e-​government research.
    • The Gen­eral ePar­tic­i­pa­tion Track serves as an umbrella for all eParticipation-​related top­ics except the special-​topic tracks. It focuses on research top­ics regard­ing cit­i­zen engage­ment in pub­lic affairs, and, in par­tic­u­lar, on research that stud­ies par­tic­i­pa­tion facil­i­tated by infor­ma­tion and com­mu­ni­ca­tion technologies.
    • The Open Gov­ern­ment & Open and Big Data Track focuses on prac­tices and meth­ods of trans­parency, account­abil­ity, pub­lic big data shar­ing, data for improv­ing pub­lic value, and data analytics.
    • The Pol­icy Mod­el­ing and Pol­icy Infor­mat­ics Track focuses on sup­port­ing pub­lic policy-​making with inno­v­a­tive ICT involv­ing rel­e­vant stake­hold­ers. The scope ranges from pol­icy analy­sis and con­cep­tual mod­el­ing to pro­gram­ming and visu­al­iza­tion of sim­u­la­tion models.
    • The Smart Gov­er­nance, Smart Gov­ern­ment, Smart Cities & Smart Regions Track focuses on the orches­trated inter­play and bal­ance of smart gov­er­nance prac­tices, smart pub­lic admin­is­tra­tion, smart resource and tal­ent lever­age in urban and regional spaces facil­i­tated by novel uses of ICTs and other tech­nolo­gies, in par­tic­u­lar the Inter­net of Things.

    Despite some inten­tional over­lap, the five tracks cover and empha­size dis­tinct areas of research and appeal to spe­cific and impor­tant sub-​communities within the over­all IFIP WG 8.5 schol­arly com­mu­nity. There­fore the tracks have their sep­a­rate and detailed call for papers.


    Prior to the con­fer­ence, a PhD stu­dent col­lo­quium will be held pro­vid­ing an inter­na­tional forum for doc­toral stu­dents under the guid­ance of senior schol­ars for pre­sent­ing their work, net­work­ing oppor­tu­ni­ties and cross-​disciplinary inspi­ra­tion. Papers of accepted sub­mis­sions will be included in the proceedings.

    Out­stand­ing Paper Awards

    Award Categories

    Three types of paper awards are used. These are loosely aligned with the types of papers the IFIP EGOV-​EPART con­fer­ence was look­ing for:

    • Cat­e­gory 1: The most inno­v­a­tive research con­tri­bu­tion or case study. Awards the paper with the most out-​­of‐the‐box and forward-​looking idea and con­cept. Rel­e­vance is more impor­tant than rigor.
    • Cat­e­gory 2: The most com­pelling, crit­i­cal research reflec­tion. Awards the paper with the most com­pelling crit­i­cal reflec­tion on and dis­cus­sion of e-​government research.
    • Cat­e­gory 3: The most promis­ing prac­ti­cal con­cept. Awards the paper deliv­er­ing a con­cept or solu­tion with the high­est poten­tial to have a high impact in e-​government imple­men­ta­tions and applications.

    Selec­tion Process

    • Step 1 (after sub­mis­sion): Papers sub­mit­ted to the con­fer­ences were reviewed by at least three inde­pen­dent review­ers. Among the papers scor­ing best in the review process, best paper can­di­dates were selected and handed over to the awards committee.
    • Step 2 (after sub­mis­sion of camera-​ready paper): The out­stand­ing paper awards com­mit­tee then reviewed the camera-​ready papers along a list of 5 to 8 cri­te­ria per awards category.
    • Step 3 (shortly before the con­fer­ence): The paper awards com­mit­tee pro­posed a short list per cat­e­gory (approx 3 nominees).
    • Step 4: The awards com­mit­tee decided at the con­fer­ence, which paper won per category.


    The out­stand­ing paper awards cer­e­mony will take place at the con­fer­ence dinner.

    Organ­is­ing Committee

    2017 Con­fer­ence Chairs

    • Mar­ijn Janssen, Delft Uni­ver­sity of Tech­nol­ogy, Nether­lands (2017 Lead Organizer)
    • Hans Jochen Scholl, Uni­ver­sity of Wash­ing­ton, USA (Lead, Gen­eral EGOV Track)
    • Efthimios Tam­bouris, Uni­ver­sity of Mace­do­nia, Greece (Lead, Gen­eral EPART Track)
    • Ida Lind­gren, Linköping Uni­ver­sity, Swe­den (Lead, Open Gov­ern­ment & Big Data Track)
    • Theresa A. Pardo, Cen­ter for Tech­nol­ogy in Gov­ern­ment, Uni­ver­sity at Albany, SUNY, USA (Lead, Pol­icy Mod­el­ing & Infor­mat­ics Track)
    • Peter Parycek, Danube Uni­ver­sity Krems, Aus­tria (Lead, Smart Gov­er­nance Track)
    • Anneke Zuiderwijk-​van Eijk,Delft Uni­ver­sity of Tech­nol­ogy, Nether­lands (Chair, PhD Colloquium)
    • Olivier Glassey, Uni­ver­sity of Lau­sanne, Switzer­land (Chair, Awards Com­mit­tee Chair)
    • Dim­itrii Trut­nev, ITMO Uni­ver­sity, Rus­sia (Local Host)
    • Andrei V. Chugunov, ITMO Uni­ver­sity, Rus­sia (Local Host)

    Track Chairs

    Gen­eral Elec­tronic Gov­ern­ment Track

    • Hans Jochen Scholl (lead), Uni­ver­sity of Wash­ing­ton, USA
    • Mar­ijn Janssen, Tech­ni­cal Uni­ver­sity Delft, The Netherlands

    Gen­eral Elec­tronic Par­tic­i­pa­tion Track

    • Efthimios Tam­bouris (lead), Uni­ver­sity of Mace­do­nia, Greece
    • Øys­tein Sæbø, Agder Uni­ver­sity, Norway
    • Panos Pana­giotopou­los, Queen Mary Uni­ver­sity of Lon­don, UK

    The Open Gov­ern­ment & Open and Big Data Track

    • Ida Lind­gren (lead), Linköping Uni­ver­sity, Sweden
    • Bram Klievink, Tech­ni­cal Uni­ver­sity of Delft, The Netherlands
    • Robert Krim­mer, Tallinn Uni­ver­sity of Tech­nol­ogy, Estonia

    The Pol­icy Mod­el­ing and Pol­icy Infor­mat­ics Track

    • Theresa Pardo (lead), Cen­ter for Tech­nol­ogy in Gov­ern­ment, SUNY, USA
    • Yan­nis Char­al­abidis, Uni­ver­sity of Aegean, Greece

    The Smart Gov­er­nance, Smart Gov­ern­ment, & Smart Cities Track

    • Peter Parycek (lead), Danube Uni­ver­sity Krems, Austria
    • Olivier Glassey, Uni­ver­sity of Lau­sanne, Switzerland
    • Karen Axels­son, Linköping Uni­ver­sity, Sweden

    Senior Fac­ulty of PhD Colloquium

    • Anneke Zuiderwijk-​van Eijk, Delft Uni­ver­sity of Tech­nol­ogy, The Nether­lands (Chair)
    • Ramon Gil-​Garcia (Co-​chair), Uni­ver­sity at Albany, USA
    • Ida Lind­gren (lead chair), Linköping Uni­ver­sity, Sweden
    • Mar­ijn Janssen, Tech­ni­cal Uni­ver­sity Delft, The Netherlands
    • Peter Parycek, Danube Uni­ver­sity, Austria
    • Hans Jochen Scholl, Uni­ver­sity of Wash­ing­ton, USA
    • Efthimios Tam­bouris, Uni­ver­sity of Mace­do­nia, Greece
    starting: ending: 07.09.2017 Location: , Category:


    Conference START 07.09.2017 END

    All deadlines have expired!

    This conference has no more open deadlines. There may be successive conferences coming up you may by interested in.

    Please check our conference list and search...

    Conference Facts

    Location , Address ulitsa Lomonosova 9 Category More Info Conference Website

    Further interesting Conferences

    Currently we have no similar events listed. Please check our website regulary, subscribe to our RSS-Feed or follow us on twitter for new listings.